Thursday, October 16, 2014

Opening Reception for UMD Art & Design Faculty Biennial: What We Do

October 18, 2014 - 6 to 8pm

Quick Note: The Tweed Museum of Art is hosting the 2014 Faculty Biennial exhibition, featuring artwork created by the Art & Design faculty, School of Fine Arts, at the University of Minnesota Duluth.

WHAT WE DO is an exhibition of new artworks by UMD art teaching faculty. The exhibition highlights their creative achievements, from traditional to new media. What We Do emphasizes the significance of artistic achievement derived from research, practice and intelligent imagination. For more information, visit our website at

Why I do what I do
"Most design professionals are in a highly complex working environment, both technological and methodological. In many situations the communication challenges are multilayered. Design challenges must be explored from multiple viewpoints; client, user, designer, societal needs, purpose. Yet in the end design communication is often one on one."
- Janice Kmetz, Art & Design Faculty

This exhibit will be on display through March 22, 2015, but if you come to the opening you can meet the artists/faculty in person. Highly recommended.

Opening reception: Saturday, October 18, 2014 from 6 to 8pm - Tweed Museum of Art.

According to their announcement there will be a limited edition of screen printed posters created by John O'Neill on sale at the reception. This event is free and open to the public.

The Tweed Museum is a fiscal year 2015 recipient of an operating support grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board. This activity is funded, in part, by the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund as appropriated by the Minnesota State Legislature with money from the Legacy Amendment vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008. The Tweed Museum is one of seven units in the School of Fine Arts, UMD. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.

Art & Design Faculty Biennial 2014, University of Minnesota - Duluth

Alison Aune ● Fatih Benzer ● Steve Bardolph ● David Bowen ● Gloria DeFilipps Brush ● Jen Dietrich ● Darren Houser ● Betsy Hunt ● Elizabeth James ● Jeffrey Kalstrom ● James Klueg ● Janice Kmetz ● Victoria Lehman ● Robin Murphy ● Ryuta Nakajima ● Matthew Olin ● John O'Neill ● Kristin Pless ● Robert Repinski ● Joellyn Rock ● David Short ● Eun-Kyung Suh ● Rob Wittig

Join us!

No comments: